MIDIMUSIC.ORG.UK Computer Processed Music

  1. Index
  2. Literature
  3. Kochel Catalog

Midimusic.org.uk, Mozart Köchel Catalog

July 2012 HTML Version By: David Back

The first catalog of Mozart's work was compiled by Sir Ludwig von Köchel and published in 1862. It listed all works known at the time in chronological order and is now known as K1.

The second edition, K2 of the catalog with minor corrections and additions was prepared by Count Paul von Waldersee and published in 1905.

The first thorough revision K3 was completed by Alfred Einstein in 1936. He had to insert some new numbers between the previously established numbers, so he added lower case letters.

K3 was reprinted in 1946 with an extensive supplement of corrections and additions. It was known as K3a.

The fourth and fifth editions were unchanged reprints of K3.

The sixth and current edition, K6, published in 1964, continued Einstein's innovations and added even more numbers with lower case letters appended and a few with upper case letters as well.

Seventh and eighth editions are unchanged reprints of K6.

This explains why many of Mozart's works bear two K numbers and a few three, such as the Symphony in B-Flat major, K182=K166c=K173dA.

SATB = voices used chorally: soprano, alto, tenor, bass
strings = 2 violins, viola, basso
deest = a work by (or attributed to) Mozart which does not appear in any edition of the Köchel Catalog.
Anh. = Anhang or appendix.

  1. Index
  2. Literature
  3. Kochel Catalog